I Met Khary Payton!

I went to AwesomeCon on Saturday June 17th and I had the chance to meet Khary Payton! AKA King Ezekiel from AMCs The Walking Dead. I waited in line for 45 minutes and it was so worth it. He talked to everyone for a good 5 minutes and you were able to ask him questions. Before I get into my story I want to share some funny things that happened while I was in line.

One family brought a stuffed tiger (see picture below) for their photo with him. When he saw the tiger he screamed “SHIVA! Oh Shiva!” and everyone in line started laughing. When the family was done talking to him they said that the tiger was a gift for him. Khary put the tiger on the table behind him to use in the photos.

A woman a few places in front of me was dressed like Negan and when she met him he started pushing her away (playfully) and said she was not allowed in the Kingdom. Then he brought her back and made her repeat a speech he came up with on the spot about how she wasn’t going to bring the baseball bat into the line and into the Kingdom. Then when they took their picture they did one where they looked angry at each other and then one of them smiling.

When it was my turn I greeting him and gave him a big hug. I told him that The Walking Dead was my favorite show and I was so excited to meet him. Khary said “The Walking Dead is my favorite show too!” He asked me what my name was and I told him it’s Bella, he said he loved that name. I asked him what his favorite scenes and episodes were to film. He said that the finale was fun but his favorite scene was the one where him and Carol are talking in the garden. He also said, “We have some really great stuff coming up. I wish I could tell you about it but I can’t.” I said “I’ll take your word for it!”

When he signed my autograph he asked me where I was from. I said “Herndon” and he spelled the word wrong and I said that I didn’t mind. He ripped the pictured and said “No I am going to do this right for you. It has to be perfect.” He got another photo and signed it right. He said “Next time you come to the Kingdom present this to me and you can get in.” I thanked him and then it was time for the picture.

Since I am very small he leaned down and hugged me. Then he said “No wait! We have to get the tiger in this.” We posed with the tiger and I was so incredibly happy! I thanked him and said, “I can’t wait for the next season. I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day!” He thanked me and said, “I hope you enjoy the rest of the convention.” I thanked him again and left. I am so incredibly happy that I met him and that I was able to talk to him for a while. This was the best celebrity encounter I have ever had.

19149388_10211737576028074_8887217480920876738_n
Me with Khary Payton.
19247605_10211737574108026_1017387649887867398_n
My autograph from Khary Payton.
Leave a Reply

